INFORMED.
LIVE

VANS Electroengineerings IPO: Strong orders and high margins,

1. IPO Overview

VANS Electroengineerings is raising a small, all-fresh SME offer of Rs ~34 crores at upper cap of the IPO price band.

Offer itemDetail
Total offerUp to 28,80,000 equity shares
Fresh issueUp to 28,80,000 equity shares
Offer for saleNil
Price bandRs 112 to Rs 118 per share
Face valueRs 10 per share
Issue openSeptember 29, 2026
Issue closeOctober 01, 2026
Lead managerHem Securities Limited
RegistrarBigshare Services Private Limited
Pre-issue shares80,00,000
Post-issue shares1,08,80,000
Promoter holding pre-issue75.75%
Promoter holding post-issue55.70%
Post-issue P/E at top of band23.8x on FY2025-26 reported profit
Return on net worth FY2025-2658.79% on pre-issue equity
BoardSME Platform of BSE

2. What the company does

Switches that protect 25,000-volt railway wires

VANS Electroengineerings makes special outdoor switches that control and protect the power that moves electric trains. Picture the railway as a giant home-wiring system running at 25,000 volts.

Beside the track sits a traction sub-station that feeds the overhead wire. Smaller posts along the line let engineers isolate a stretch for repair or cut power instantly during a fault. VANS builds the boxes that do that job.

Its core has two parts:

  • a vacuum circuit breaker, which is the complete outdoor box that can open a live high-voltage line and trip automatically on fault;
  • a vacuum interrupter, which is the sealed bottle inside where the arc dies in vacuum without oil or gas.

Single-pole units have one switching pole and mainly serve sectioning posts. Double-pole units have two bottles worked by one drive and mainly serve sub-stations on the newer 2x25 kV system that hauls heavier freight.

Railways pay in the end, contractors place most orders

The end user is always the railway system, but the buyer on paper is usually someone else. Direct railway contracts are a small slice. Most sales go to large engineering contractors and vendors who build electrification works and then hand the system to the railways.

The model is simple and lumpy. A railway zone or contractor floats a tender with a drawing, quantity and delivery date. VANS bids only if it holds vendor approval for that exact product. If it wins, it builds to the drawing, passes inspection, dispatches and gets paid after acceptance.

There is no subscription or repeat retail. One purchase order for a defined number of boxes at a tendered price is one unit of business. Growth means more approved products, more tenders won and more boxes pushed through the same factory.

Four vacuum products still dominate, two new lines helped last year

The company reports a single business segment, which is traction power and overhead equipment for railways and metros. Within that, it splits sales into seven offerings.

Four vacuum lines were about 85% of sales last year. Double-pole interrupters led, followed by single-pole interrupters and the two breaker types. Overhead equipment and braided connectors appeared for the first time last year and helped growth when double-pole breakers stalled.

Product (₹ crore)FY2023-24 AmountFY2023-24 Share (%)FY2024-25 AmountFY2024-25 Share (%)FY2025-26 AmountFY2025-26 Share (%)
Double Pole Vacuum Interrupters1.1745.134.1530.576.9730.50
Single Pole Vacuum Interrupters0.197.303.8428.334.7120.61
Double Pole Vacuum Circuit Breakers1.0339.624.2131.024.2018.39
Single Pole Vacuum Circuit Breakers0.072.521.309.603.6616.01
Overhead Equipment0.0000.0002.7912.22
Braided Flexible Connector0.0000.0000.411.80
Others0.145.420.060.470.110.48
Total revenue from operations2.60100.0013.56100.0022.84100.00

Sales remain fully domestic with no exports. The West led early, then the North and South surged as railway rollouts shifted. The channel stayed heavily intermediated.

  • North rose from Rs 16.80 lakhs to Rs 8.25 crore in two years, becoming the largest region.
  • West fell in share but still contributed Rs 7.11 crore last year.
  • South jumped to Rs 5.85 crore last year from a tiny base.
  • Business-to-business sales were Rs 19.82 crore last year, about 87% of revenue, with the rest direct to government buyers.

One rented shed in Salem does everything

All manufacturing happens at one site in Salem, Tamil Nadu, with a corporate office at Lucknow. The plant builds the steel housing, fits the spring-charged tripping mechanism, mounts one or two porcelain poles, wires the controls for remote operation, then tests and dispatches.

Capacity has stayed flat at 1,800 pieces a year on one shift. Output was 57 pieces, then 387, then 478 over the last three years. Use last year ranged from about 17% for double-pole breakers to about 43% for single-pole interrupters.

That leaves plenty of headroom if orders arrive. Certified orders stood at Rs 50.62 crore in early September 2026, more than twice last year's sales. The catch is that orders can be deferred or cancelled and pay only after inspection.

Operating metric (unit as printed)FY2023-24FY2024-25FY2025-26
Installed capacity – Total (NOS)180018001800
Actual production – Total (NOS)57387478
Order book as on 05 Sep 2026 (₹ crore)Not disclosedNot disclosed50.62
Permanent employees as on 31 Aug 2026 (Nos.)Not disclosedNot disclosed33

Permission to bid matters more than marketing

To sell to railways, a supplier must be an approved or developmental vendor with type-tested designs and lot inspection by agencies such as RITES or TUV. VANS moved step by step from developmental status in 2023 to approved vendor for all four core products by March 2026.

That ladder is the real barrier. It keeps casual entrants out but does not protect price once qualified, since the lowest compliant bid often wins. The company has 33 permanent staff, buys materials domestically without long-term contracts, and relies on a handful of suppliers.

What decides growth is therefore clear: keep approvals current, win tenders at workable prices, push more volume through the half-empty plant, and collect cash on time.

3. Use of Funds

  • To meet working capital requirements: Rs 25.00 crore, planned as Rs 15.00 crore in 2026-27 and Rs 10.00 crore in 2027-28.
  • General corporate purpose: amount to be decided at pricing, within regulatory limits.

There is no offer for sale, so no proceeds go to selling shareholders.

4. Financials Overview

MetricFY2023-24FY2024-25FY2025-26
Revenue from operations (Rs crore)2.6013.5622.84
EBITDA (Rs crore)0.022.487.23
PAT (Rs crore)0.021.735.39
PAT margin (%)0.8312.7523.61
Return on equity (%)2.0671.6383.27

All three years are full 12-month years on standalone restated accounts. The July 2026 purchase of a 67% stake in Infowin Electric sits outside these years.

The trend is fast growth from a tiny base, with profit rising faster than sales last year. Margins expanded sharply as volume recovered, but cash did not follow profit because year-end bills piled up as receivables.

5. What the financials tell us

A tiny railway supplier scaled sales almost nine-fold in two years and lifted profit even faster on a richer mix. Yet most sales arrive late in the year through a few buyers, so profit sits in unpaid bills and operating cash stays negative. Spare capacity and a large order book offer leverage, but insider supply and callable loans add fragility.

Richer mix lifted profit faster than sales

Sales reached about Rs 22.84 crore last year from about Rs 13.56 crore the year before, after about Rs 2.60 crore two years ago. Growth slowed to about 68% from over 400% because the earlier jump came off a very small early-stage base.

The mix did the heavy lifting:

  • single-pole breakers rose from about Rs 1.30 crore to about Rs 3.66 crore;
  • overhead equipment added about Rs 2.79 crore and braided connectors about Rs 41 lakhs in their first year;
  • double-pole breakers stayed flat at about Rs 4.20 crore, so their share halved.

Profit grew faster because bought-material cost rose more slowly than sales, from about Rs 7.39 crore to about Rs 11.69 crore. That left more of each rupee as profit, taking EBITDA margin to about 32% and PAT margin to about 24%. The result is genuine operating leverage, not a one-off gain, since there were no exceptional items and other income was small.

Almost all demand traces to railways via a few buyers

Direct railway contracts were under 7% of sales last year, down from about 20% two years ago. The rest flowed through contractors and vendors who build for railways.

Customer names are masked, but concentration is stark:

  • the top buyer took about 43% of sales last year, down from about 62% and about 77% in the prior years;
  • the top five took about 66%, down from about 82% and about 97%.

Easing helps, yet repeat business still hinges on a handful of intermediaries and continued railway spending. With no long-term offtake for most customers, loss or deferral by one key buyer can swing revenue at once. Tender pricing also caps power, since qualified vendors compete mainly on compliant price.

Plenty of room to make more, if orders convert

The plant can make 1,800 pieces a year but made only about 478 last year, up from 387 and 57. Use ranged from about 17% for double-pole breakers to about 43% for single-pole interrupters.

That spare room means near-term growth needs execution, not new building. Certified orders of about Rs 50.62 crore in early September were more than twice last year's sales, giving visible cover.

The limits matter as much. Fixed cost per box stays high until use lifts. The order book has no disclosed delivery dates, margins or payment terms, and customers can delay or cancel. Volume can more than triple without a new shed, but only if tenders are won, inspected and paid.

Late-year sales left profit locked in receivables

Customer dues jumped to about Rs 13.14 crore at March-end, about 58% of yearly revenue. Operating cash was negative about Rs 3.07 crore despite profit of about Rs 5.39 crore.

The cause is timing. About three-quarters of last year's sales fell in October to March, leaving bills uncollected at year-end. That absorbed about Rs 12.75 crore of cash in receivables plus about Rs 63 lakhs in stock.

The IPO targets the right gap but does not close it fully. Working-capital need was about Rs 11.15 crore last year and is projected at about Rs 27.71 crore and about Rs 37.19 crore over the next two years. The earmarked Rs 25 crore covers most of the planned rise, leaving the rest to timely collection and bank or supplier funding if sales stay bunched near March.

Key inputs and emergency cash run through insiders

Supply and funding both lean on related parties. Last year purchases were about Rs 3.47 crore from one insider-linked supplier and about Rs 2.34 crore from another, together about a quarter of sales, with only about Rs 65 lakhs sold back.

Funding is similarly linked. At March-end the company owed Rs 1.95 crore of unsecured loans from directors and a promoter entity, carrying 10% interest and repayable on demand at short or no notice. Total debt was small against equity at about 0.28 times, with no long-term debt and no contingent claims, so the balance sheet looks light. The risk is liquidity, not solvency: if supply terms tighten or those loans are recalled, cash can tighten quickly even when orders look strong.

The new 67% subsidiary does not change this picture. Bought after March 2026, it had no revenue in the last two years and net worth of barely Rs 2 lakhs. What is being bought is essentially the single parent company.

6. Valuation Analysis

At the top of the band, the IPO values the company at about 24 times its last full-year profit on post-issue shares, using the earnings multiple that suits a profitable maker. With no listed peer in the same niche, that price must stand on absolute delivery rather than relative cheapness.

The multiple looks demanding rather than earned, since high accounting returns have not yet turned into cash and rest on concentrated, tender-driven demand. It would look fairer only if late-year bills collect quickly, the order book converts without price cuts, and insider funding stops being the swing factor.

7. Peer Analysis

Valuation at bandAt Rs 112At Rs 118
Market cap (Rs cr)121.86128.38
P/E on FY2025-26 reported profit, post-issue (x)22.623.8

Basis: post-issue shares, FY2025-26 reported profit; peer multiples not available on same basis.

The offer document states there is no listed Indian company in the same business, so no peer table or KPI comparison is possible. That absence shapes everything.

The real comparison is therefore about business risk, not multiples. VANS sells only to one buyer system through tenders, with the top buyer still over two-fifths of sales and no long-term contracts. A diversified electrical maker can offset a lost order elsewhere; VANS cannot.

Cash quality widens the gap further. Profit without collection is more expensive in risk terms, and last year operating cash was negative while receivables exceeded half of sales. An approval moat plus a half-empty plant and a large but cancellable order book gives upside if executed, but fixed costs bite until use lifts.

In short, the asking multiple cannot be called cheap or expensive versus peers.

8. Moat

What makes it different

The edge is permission, not scale. Holding approved-vendor status for all four core vacuum products lets VANS bid where outsiders cannot. In-house assembly, timing and testing, plus external type tests to international standards, help it pass lot inspection batch after batch.

That is hard to copy quickly because each new product needs its own developmental-to-approved journey. But it is table stakes among qualified vendors rather than a pricing moat. Once approved, rivals compete on compliant price, and the company has not shown cost leadership or proprietary technology.

Evidence for focus is clear: a single niche plant, railway drawings and inspection discipline, and promoter experience in switchgear and railway works. Evidence against durability is equally clear: use below half of capacity and heavy dependence on the same buyer pool show the moat protects participation, not volume or margin.

Tailwinds

Three outside forces help if they flow into orders:

  • Record railway capital spending under the Union Budget, which funds sub-stations, posts and wiring that need breakers and interrupters.
  • Upgrades from 1x25 kV to 2x25 kV on dense corridors, which specifically need double-pole units for the two-pole feeding system.
  • Near-complete electrification shifting to modernisation, capacity expansion and safety systems, which sustains replacement and new-installation demand.

Each reaches VANS only through tenders. Budget allocations must become purchase orders from zones or contractors, with specs VANS is approved for and prices it can meet.

How durable the edge is

This is a narrow, regulatory moat with limited pricing power. It lasts as long as approvals stay current and specs do not change abruptly. It wears down if another approved vendor undercuts, if the railway alters drawings or qualification, or if project funding pauses.

There is no consumer brand, network effect or low-cost advantage to fall back on. The durable part is know-how in passing tests and delivering on project calendars. The fragile part is that every advantage must be re-won tender by tender.

9. Risks

Demand and customer concentration

  • Ultimate dependence on railway budgets and procurement policy, with over nine-tenths of sales via contractors. A slowdown, cancellation or tender-term change hits both direct and indirect channels at once.
  • Top-buyer risk with no long-term commitments. Losing or deferring one large contractor order can swing revenue sharply, even though concentration has eased.

Cash and working capital

  • Back-ended sales lock cash in receivables and stock, forcing borrowings to keep making. Collection delays after March decide liquidity more than reported profit does.
  • IPO money covers most but not all of the projected working-capital rise. If growth stays bunched in the second half, bank limits and supplier credit must fill the gap.

Operations and supply

  • Single rented site with no geographic alternative. Fire, breakdown, power loss or lease non-renewal stops all assembly and dispatch, partly mitigated by insurance.
  • Concentrated domestic sourcing without long-term contracts, including large insider-linked purchases. Disruption or price rises lift cost quickly, while on-demand insider loans can be recalled at short notice.

Governance and compliance

  • Material related-party purchases, sales, loans and pay, plus past delays in statutory filings now regularised. These do not threaten solvency but raise scrutiny on terms and controls.

10. Verdict

The call rests on four load-bearing facts: profit grew faster than sales on a richer mix, orders in hand exceed last year's sales with ample spare capacity, almost all sales flow through a few railway-linked buyers, and higher profit left operating cash negative with dues stuck in receivables. Together they describe fast, approval-led growth that has not yet proved it can collect.

At about 24 times last-year profit on post-issue shares, with no listed peer to anchor the price, the valuation pays for sustained high returns turning into cash. That thesis works only if the order book converts on time and late-year bills become cash without extra borrowing. It breaks if a key contractor defers, tender prices slip, or insider supply and callable loans tighten liquidity.