Sai Urja Indo Ventures IPO: fast-growing PSU power caretaker with thin margins
1. IPO Overview
Sai Urja Indo Ventures is a small BSE SME offer of up to 22,08,000 shares at Rs 107 to Rs 113 a share, split into a fresh issue of up to 18,28,800 shares and an offer for sale (OFS, shares sold by existing owners for their own proceeds) of up to 3,79,200 shares by its two promoters.
At the top of the band, Rs 113 a share, the fresh issue raises about Rs 20.67 crore and the OFS about Rs 4.29 crore, for a total offer of about Rs 24.95 crore, with post-issue paid-up capital of up to 76,38,800 shares against 58,10,000 shares before the offer.
The issue opens on September 23, 2026 and closes on September 25, 2026, with Shannon Advisors as lead manager, and the lot size and post-offer promoter holding are still printed as [●] in the prospectus, while the unusual point is that 3,84,000 shares changed hands at Rs 113 just before the offer, exactly the cap price.
At the top of the band, Rs 113 a share, the company is valued at Rs 86.32 cr on 76,38,800 post-issue shares, implying a post-issue price to earnings ratio of 20.4x on FY 2025-26 owner profit of Rs 4.24 crore, against a pre-issue return on net worth (RoNW, profit as a share of net worth) of 42.44% in FY 2025-26.
2. What the company does
A caretaker for plants that cannot stop
Sai Urja Indo Ventures is an ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 45001:2018 certified operation and maintenance services company for industrial plants, mainly coal-based power stations plus some iron and steel and agrochemical sites.
It does not own or build plants. It wins time-bound tenders, puts its own payroll workers inside someone else's plant, maintains and runs equipment round the clock, and bills every month for work certified by the customer.
Revenue is therefore deployed manpower multiplied by contract rate multiplied by months executed, less deductions for delays or service shortfalls, collected after about two months.
How a tender becomes cash
Work comes almost entirely through competitive bidding, especially with Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs). Contracts run as Annual Maintenance Contracts of one to three years, Performance-Based Contracts linked to output, Manpower Supply Contracts and Short-Term Bill of Quantity Contracts.
Once awarded, Sai Urja mobilises highly-skilled, skilled, semi-skilled and unskilled workers on its own payroll. It had 2,058 personnel deployed as on March 31, 2026, 2,469 a year earlier and 1,611 two years earlier, with 1,955 of 1,969 employees as on June 30, 2026 classified as workers.
It then does the daily work, raises monthly bills, waits for verification and payment in about 50 to 60 days, and absorbs small deductions. Contracted price was Rs 85.24 crore in FY 2025-26 less liquidated damages of Rs 12.94 Lakhs to give revenue of Rs 85.11 crore, with similar tiny deductions in prior years.
Unbilled revenue, or work done but not yet invoiced, is large at Rs 7.37 crore as at March 31, 2026, typically billed next month and cleared in the second month.
Maintenance: the core
Maintenance is preventive, predictive, breakdown and calibration work, and it remains about seven rupees in ten of sales.
Revenue was Rs 59.90 crore in FY 2025-26, Rs 53.54 crore in FY 2024-25 and Rs 41.55 crore in FY 2023-24, from 8, 6 and 9 clients and 23, 18 and 25 projects in those years.
The work covers three systems. Electrical covers transformers, switchyards, substations, cabling and township lighting, backed by electrical licences in Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand and Madhya Pradesh. Control and Instrumentation covers sensors, transmitters, valves, actuators and control networks, including a 4,760 MW plant in Central India and a 3,000 MW plant in Northern India. Mechanical covers conveyors, pumps, compressors, pipes and valves.
Operations: running parts of the plant
Operations means actually operating equipment, not just fixing it, and it has grown from tiny to the second engine.
Revenue was Rs 13.38 crore in FY 2025-26, Rs 8.68 crore in FY 2024-25 and Rs 1.58 crore in FY 2023-24, with average revenue per client rising from Rs 31.60 Lakhs to Rs 4.46 crore as scopes got bigger.
Offerings include Coal Handling Plant operation from coal unloading to boilers, Merry-Go-Round railway loops that move coal continuously from mines to plants with station masters and loco pilots, and Boiler-Turbine-Generator operation for boilers, turbines and generators.
Other work: housekeeping, overhauls, manpower
Other revenue was Rs 11.83 crore in FY 2025-26, Rs 3.30 crore in FY 2024-25 and Rs 2.48 crore in FY 2023-24, driven in FY 2025-26 by a few large bundles.
Industrial housekeeping cleans coal dust, ash, oil and chemicals to keep plants safe. Overhaul work provides extra manpower for 30 to 45 day annual and capital shutdowns and 5 to 10 day breakdown shutdowns. Manpower supply provides workers at all skill levels for short and long needs.
| Rs crore unless stated | FY 2025-26 | FY 2024-25 | FY 2023-24 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maintenance revenue | 59.90 | 53.54 | 41.55 |
| Operations revenue | 13.38 | 8.68 | 1.58 |
| Other revenue | 11.83 | 3.30 | 2.48 |
| Total revenue from operations | 85.11 | 65.52 | 45.62 |
The mix by end industry and ownership shows deepening focus:
| Share of revenue from operations | FY 2025-26 | FY 2024-25 | FY 2023-24 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Power generation | 95.06% | 93.59% | 88.88% |
| Iron and steel | 2.40% | 2.77% | 3.80% |
| Agrochemical | 2.47% | 3.59% | 7.28% |
| PSU customers | 92.27% | 91.13% | 81.28% |
| Other than PSU | 7.73% | 8.87% | 18.72% |
Customers, scale and forward book
Customers are plant owners buying uptime, not shoppers. Named clients include Adani Infrastructure Management Services, GMR Warora Energy and Maharashtra State Power Generation Company, but total clients were only 7 in FY 2025-26, 6 in FY 2024-25 and 9 in FY 2023-24.
Repeat business was 99.65% of revenue in FY 2025-26 and 100% in the prior two years, with average realisation per project rising from Rs 1.20 crore to Rs 2.36 crore and per plant from Rs 2.68 crore to Rs 5.67 crore. Projects were 36, 36 and 38, plants in service were 15, 15 and 17, and power capacity serviced was 28,220 MW, 27,290 MW and 31,040 MW.
As on June 15, 2026 the order book was Rs 159.67 crore, comprising Rs 71.65 crore of unexecuted work on ongoing projects and Rs 25.37 crore of projects yet to commence, or about 1.1 times FY 2025-26 revenue, though the filing warns the book can be delayed, modified or cancelled.
3. Use of Funds
- Funding working capital requirements: Rs 8.00 crore, to be deployed in FY 2026-27.
- Repayment or prepayment of certain loans: Rs 6.60 crore, against Rs 7.56 crore principal outstanding as at June 30, 2026.
- General Corporate Purpose: amount not disclosed, to be funded from any balance of net proceeds.
Proceeds from the OFS of up to 3,79,200 shares go to the two promoter selling shareholders, not to the company.
4. Financials Overview
All figures below are on a restated consolidated basis for the full 12 months ended March 31, with no stub period involved.
| Metric | FY 2025-26 | FY 2024-25 | FY 2023-24 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue from operations (Rs crore) | 85.11 | 65.52 | 45.62 |
| EBITDA (Rs crore) | 6.51 | 5.14 | 2.93 |
| PAT attributable to owners (Rs crore) | 4.24 | 3.14 | 1.37 |
| PAT margin (%) | 4.98% | 4.79% | 3.01% |
| Debt to equity (x) | 0.59 | 0.69 | 0.45 |
| Return on net worth (%) | 42.44% | 50.27% | 34.37% |
Revenue grew 43.64% in FY 2024-25 and 29.89% in FY 2025-26, profit tripled over two years, margins improved modestly, leverage rose then eased, and operating cash flow was negative in the last two years, which section 5 explains.
5. What the financials tell us
Sai Urja grew fast by supplying workers to one large government power client, but wages leave almost no buffer, reported profits have stayed on paper for two years while cash waits in unbilled bills and client deposits, and short-term loans have filled the gap. The ownership itself is simple, with nothing hidden.
One client decides almost all sales
In the year to March 2026 one client contributed about Rs 63.63 crore, or about three-quarters of sales, up from about half two years earlier. The top ten clients were about 99.97% of revenue, PSU buyers were about 92.27%, and power generation was about 95.06%.
That concentration means renewal, continuation or price reset with that single relationship, not broad market demand, will decide revenue. Contract length, renewal dates and tender risk are not disclosed, so investors cannot judge how secure that wallet is.
More sales brought no extra cushion
Sales and reported net profit rose across FY 2023-24 to FY 2025-26, but the wage bill in FY 2025-26 was about Rs 74.31 crore against revenue of about Rs 85.11 crore, or about 87 paise of every rupee.
On the offer document's own operating definition, margin rose from about 6.41% to about 7.84% then slipped to about 7.65% in the listing year, while pre-tax profit relative to sales was flat. Net profit rose only because other day-to-day costs fell sharply and the tax charge was lower relative to pre-tax profit.
With almost every rupee paid out as wages, there is little buffer if wages rise or if other costs and tax return to earlier levels. What drove the fall in other expenses and whether the lower tax can continue is not explained.
Reported profits have not arrived as cash
The company reported owner profits of about Rs 3.14 crore and Rs 4.24 crore in the years to March 2025 and 2026, yet cash from operations was negative in both years at about Rs -2.10 crore and Rs -94.86 Lakhs, after a positive Rs 3.35 crore in FY 2023-24.
Profit before working-capital moves was large at about Rs 5.16 crore and Rs 6.70 crore, but working-capital moves left only tiny or negative cash from operations, and cash taxes of about Rs 1.26 crore and Rs 1.46 crore then pushed the result negative. Small spending on fixed assets left free cash negative, and interest in profit equals interest paid in cash, so cash was not flattered by accounting.
An IPO buyer paying on earnings per share of Rs 7.29 in FY 2025-26 on 58,10,000 pre-issue shares is therefore paying for accounting profit that has not been collected as cash for two full years.
Money is stuck with clients and short loans fill the gap
What fills short-term assets is not cash. Most receivables at March 2026 were work done but not yet billed at about Rs 7.37 crore out of Rs 10.52 crore, with only about Rs 2.77 crore as billed and undisputed. Large security deposits and holdbacks sit with clients both long term and short term, while cash was tiny at about Rs 34.75 Lakhs.
Paying down amounts owed to workers from about Rs 3.99 crore to about Rs 1.05 crore between March 2025 and 2026 while funding those unbilled and deposit balances helps explain why profit and cash diverged. Borrowings rose from about Rs 2.15 crore to about Rs 7.18 crore over two years, with about Rs 5.91 crore due within a year, and the disclosed debt-service cushion fell from 3.91x to 1.27x even though earnings still covered interest.
The current ratio looks adequate at 1.54x, but it is deposits not money. Collection of unbilled work and release of deposits must improve, otherwise short-term loans must keep being rolled to pay wages and interest.
6. Valuation Analysis
For a profitable operating services company, the right lens is earnings, not book value or asset value. Book matters only as a secondary check because this is a manpower business with few fixed assets.
At the top of the band, Rs 113 a share, on 76,38,800 post-issue shares, market capitalisation is Rs 86.32 cr and the post-issue price to earnings ratio is 20.4x on FY 2025-26 owner profit of Rs 4.24 cr, with 19.3x at the floor price of Rs 107. On a pre-issue basis, the band is 14.7x to 15.5x on prospectus earnings per share of Rs 7.29 on 58,10,000 pre-issue shares.
Post-issue book is about 2.6x at either end of the band, with net asset value per share of Rs 41.58 at the floor and Rs 43.02 at the cap on 76,38,800 post-issue shares, against Rs 20.99 pre-issue on 58,10,000 shares, before issue expenses.
That is a 71% premium at the floor and 81% at the cap to Lakshya Powertech at 11.27x, and still a 30% to 38% premium on a like-for-like pre-issue basis. The premium does not look earned: Sai Urja is less than half Lakshya's revenue, has lower operating and net margins, has stalled margin into the listing year, and has two years of negative operating cash flow with 70% of receivables unbilled and locked deposits at about two-thirds of net worth. Earnings are clean, with no exceptionals and other income only about 9.51% of pre-tax profit, but they are thin and fragile.
7. Peer Analysis
| Company | Revenue FY 2025-26 (Rs crore) | P/E | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sai Urja Indo Ventures, at cap Rs 113 | 85.11 | 20.4x post-issue on 76,38,800 shares | Reported PAT Rs 4.24 crore FY 2025-26 |
| Sai Urja Indo Ventures, at floor Rs 107 | 85.11 | 19.3x post-issue on 76,38,800 shares | Reported PAT Rs 4.24 crore FY 2025-26 |
| Lakshya Powertech | 179.93 | 11.27x on Rs 112 close June 24, 2026 | Basic EPS Rs 9.94 FY 2025-26 |
| Metric | Company | F.Y. 2025-26 | F.Y. 2024-25 | F.Y. 2023-24 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue (₹ crore) | Sai Urja Indo Ventures Limited | 85.11 | 65.52 | 45.62 |
| Revenue (₹ crore) | Lakshya Powertech Limited | 179.93 | 160.10 | 150.71 |
| PAT margin | Sai Urja Indo Ventures Limited | 4.98% | 4.79% | 3.01% |
| PAT margin | Lakshya Powertech Limited | 5.57% | 9.87% | 9.69% |
| RoE / RoNW | Sai Urja Indo Ventures Limited | 42.44% | 50.27% | 34.37% |
| RoE / RoNW | Lakshya Powertech Limited | 9.82% | 16.58% | 45.33% |
| RoCE | Sai Urja Indo Ventures Limited | 50.66% | 65.43% | 52.51% |
| RoCE | Lakshya Powertech Limited | 17.62% | 22.99% | 61.33% |
Source: RHP — Comparison of financial KPIs of our Company and our Listed Peers; pages 142-143. Basis: Consolidated basis.
Sai Urja grew faster in the last two years at 43.64% then 29.89% against Lakshya at 6.23% then 12.38%, but Lakshya had grown 190.60% in FY 2023-24 off its own base. Sai Urja's operating margin rose then slipped into listing, while Lakshya's compressed from about 14.59% to 11.07%, yet Sai Urja never reached peer margin levels. Both saw returns fall in FY 2025-26, with Sai Urja still higher only on a tiny net worth of Rs 12.20 crore against Rs 102.01 crore.
On business, Sai Urja is a pure labour caretaker with employee cost at 87.31% of sales against about 20.93% for Lakshya, while unlisted O&M peers like Sopan, Solon and Neptunus disclosed in the industry section operate at 10% to 19% operating margins at larger scale. On operations, Sai Urja gets leverage from bigger tickets per plant, not headcount efficiency, with monthly billing, 50 to 60 day collection and multi-year retention deposits. On customers, no peer split is disclosed, so concentration at top-1 of 74.77% and PSU at 92.27% reads as fragility, not a moat.
On financials, the peer is superior on margins, liquidity at 2.00x current ratio against 1.54x, and scale, while Sai Urja is superior only on recent growth and thin-base returns. Cash strain is shared, as both had negative operating cash flow, but Lakshya's outflow is far larger in absolute terms while Sai Urja's is more worrying relative to its tiny cash of Rs 34.75 Lakhs and 82% short-term debt. Overall, the premium is not earned and a discount to Lakshya, not a premium, looks warranted.
8. Moat
There is no durable moat in the economic sense. Electrical licences in five states, 99.65% repeat sales and a Rs 159.67 crore order book show site-level stickiness and trust, but with 99.97% of revenue from the top ten and 95.06% from power generation, the advantage is depth with one PSU relationship, not pricing power, and it fades if thermal awards shift or a tender is lost on price.
9. Risks
- Customer and sector concentration: loss or repricing of the 74.77% anchor client, or any top-five account at 95.46% combined, directly cuts revenue with no offset, an idiosyncratic risk that has worsened as top-1 rose from 49.99%.
- PSU tender and collection risk: failure to pre-qualify, adverse awards or delayed payments and retention holdbacks stall revenue and stretch working capital, an industry-wide PSU feature but acute here at 92.27% PSU share.
- Labour and execution risk: wages at 87.31% of sales must be paid in about 30 days while collection takes 60 days, so wage inflation, shortages, 45.01% attrition or strikes squeeze cash, an idiosyncratic pressure given the payroll model.
- Funding and thermal shift risk: net working capital need of Rs 11.66 crore funded by Rs 5.91 crore short-term borrowings needs continuous rollover even after Rs 8.00 crore IPO working-capital funding, while 95.06% thermal exposure faces renewable growth and emission costs, partly industry-wide and partly company-specific.
- Governance and compliance overhang: Rs 1.11 crore unprovided contingencies, three pending labour-act complaints, repeated delays in statutory dues filings and material related-party dealings do not yet hit profit but bear watching.
10. Verdict
The call rests on four load-bearing facts already laid out: one client at about three-quarters of sales with almost all sales repeat PSU power, wages at about 87% of sales with operating margin stalled into listing, two years of negative operating cash flow with most receivables unbilled and deposits locked, and a post-issue price around 20 times earnings at a 71% to 81% premium to the sole listed peer.
Those facts point to fragile operating quality funded by short-term debt, where profit growth came from cost containment and tax rather than pricing power. The thesis works only if the anchor PSU client renews at bigger tickets per plant and unbilled work plus deposits convert to cash so operating cash turns positive. It breaks if that client reprices or is lost, or if wages or collections slip further. On an earnings lens that fits this business, the price looks demanding.
11. IPO Snapshot
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Company | Sai Urja Indo Ventures Limited |
| Band | Rs 107 to Rs 113 per share, face value Rs 10 |
| Open / Close | September 23, 2026 / September 25, 2026 |
| Total offer | Up to 22,08,000 shares |
| Fresh issue | Up to 18,28,800 shares |
| Offer for sale | Up to 379,200 shares, 1,89,600 each by Santosh Ajay Kumar Mittal and Harsh Ajaykumar Mittal |
| Pre-issue shares | 58,10,000 shares, promoters and group 92.87% |
| Post-issue shares | Up to 76,38,800 shares |
| Market cap at cap Rs 113 | Rs 86.32 cr on post-issue shares |
| Post-issue P/E FY 2025-26 | 19.3x at Rs 107 to 20.4x at Rs 113 |
| Pre-issue EPS FY 2025-26 | Rs 7.29 on 58,10,000 shares |
| Pre-issue NAV March 31, 2026 | Rs 20.99 on 58,10,000 shares |
| Post-issue NAV | Rs 41.58 at Rs 107 to Rs 43.02 at Rs 113 on 76,38,800 shares |
| Objects | Rs 8.00 crore working capital, Rs 6.60 crore debt repayment, balance for general corporate purpose |
| Listing | BSE SME, SME issue |
| Registrar / Lead manager | Maashitla Securities / Shannon Advisors |